7 hours
★ 4.3 · 86 reviews · From $184
Whale shark swims ended for 2026 on 17 September. The 2027 season dates have not been announced, so open calendars may stay blank for now.
Check availability →Six whale shark swim listings depart from Holbox itself, from $178 to $210 per person plus one private boat at from $1,246 per group. Here is how to tell them apart on the things that actually change your day: boat type, group size, pickup, food, gear and which fees are paid separately on the day.
Short answer
Six Holbox listings run whale shark swims, from $178 to $210 per person, plus a private boat from $1,246 per group. Compare group maximums (10, 10, 8 and 8 where stated), hotel pickup (listed on two lines only), meals and whether park fees are included or paid separately. The 2026 season closed 17 September; swims return next season, typically from mid-May.
Swimming with whale sharks off Holbox is a seasonal, permit-regulated activity, and the six listings that depart from the island itself are closer together in price than most people expect: from $178 to $210 per person on the shared boats, with one private option at from $1,246 per group. The differences that actually change your day are elsewhere: how many people share the boat, whether someone collects you at your hotel, what food comes out of the cooler, and which fees you pay in cash at the dock. The 2026 season closed on 17 September under the official SEMARNAT notice, so every swim described here is a booking for next season, which typically opens in mid-May.

Start with four things in this order: departure point, boat type, group maximum and what the price actually covers. Every Holbox swim listing departs from the island itself, so the real split is shared boat against private boat, then how many travelers the listing caps, then whether breakfast, ceviche, gear, pickup and park fees are inside the price or added on the day.
The departure point matters more on this island than anywhere else in the region. Holbox sits inside the Yum Balam flora and fauna protection area, and its boats run small: the listings here cap bookings at eight or ten travelers, not the larger speedboats that leave the Cancun marinas. That shapes the whole experience, from how quietly the boat approaches the aggregation zone to how many people rotate through the water ahead of you. If you are still deciding between bases, the comparison of Holbox against the Cancun and Isla Mujeres departures is worth a read before you commit to either side.
Price is the last thing to compare, not the first. Two listings thirty dollars apart can differ by a hotel pickup, a government fee line, or a second snorkel stop at Cabo Catoche, and any of those can be worth more than the price gap. The sections below compare what each listing states., and the sections below lay out what each one actually states. For a fuller cost breakdown including the cash you should carry for fees and tips, see the guide to what a Holbox whale shark tour costs.
A shared Holbox swim runs from $178 to $210 per person; the one private listing is from $1,246 per group for up to your group only, boat and guide to yourselves. Shared boats cap at 10 or 8 travelers where a maximum is stated. Private pays off mainly for families or groups of four or more who want the boat, the schedule and the pace to themselves.
Do the arithmetic before assuming private is extravagant. Once four or five people share the $1,246 private rate, the per-person gap against a $184 to $210 shared seat narrows to a modest premium, and the listing for the private swim, operated by VIP Holbox Experience, runs 7 hours with a bilingual guide, breakfast, ceviche, snorkel gear and a boat with GPS, rating 4.5 from 27 reviews. What you give up is the crowd-buffering of a bigger group; what you gain is the ability to linger when your boat finds a shark and to set the rhythm of the rotations within the federal rules.
The shared side is where most visitors land, and the quality spread is narrower than the price spread. The cheapest Holbox departure, the 6-hour shared swim at from $178 per person (4.6 from 243 reviews), and the most expensive shared line, the 6-hour hotel-pickup tour at from $210 per person (4.5 from 47 reviews), deliver the same core experience: a small open boat, a guided swim beside a filter-feeding shark, and food on the way home. Choose shared if you are one or two travelers, flexible on companions, and price-sensitive; choose private if you are a family with young swimmers, a group that wants a photographer-friendly pace, or anyone who gets seasick and wants the option to head back early.
| Listing | Operator | Price (from) | Type | Duration | Max travelers | Rating |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 6-Hour Swim, VIP Holbox Experience | VIP Holbox Experience | $178 per person | Shared | 6 hours | 10 | 4.6 from 243 reviews |
| 7-Hour Group Adventure | Holbox Whale Shark Tours | $184 per person | Shared | 7 hours | 10 | 4.3 from 86 reviews |
| Eco Tour, Pickup Included | Xtreme Holbox | $190 per person | Shared | 7 hours | 8 | 4.6 from 57 reviews |
| All-Inclusive, Three Languages | VIP Holbox Experience | $209 per person | Shared | 7 hours | not stated | 4.9 from 267 reviews |
| Hotel Pickup, 6 Hours | Holtours SA de CV | $210 per person | Shared | 6 hours | 8 | 4.5 from 47 reviews |
| Private Swim, 7 Hours | VIP Holbox Experience | $1,246 per group | Private | 7 hours | not stated | 4.5 from 27 reviews |
Where a maximum is stated, Holbox swim listings cap the booking group at 10 or 8 travelers per boat; two listings state no maximum. That figure is a boat or booking cap, not the number of swimmers beside a shark at once. Federal rules put a specialised guide with a small group in the water, and the exact swimmer limit is set by the protected-area management programme.
Travelers often read "maximum 10" as ten people in the water together, which is not how it works. The number is how many people the boat or booking carries; once a shark is located, swimmers enter in small rotations, each rotation led by a guide who keeps the group together, stays 2 metres to the side of the head and 3 metres from the tail. The rules come from NOM-171-SEMARNAT-2018, published in the Diario Oficial de la Federación, which also limits each boat to 30 minutes around one shark while other boats wait 50 metres away. The rules for swimming with whale sharks in Mexico are set out in detail in a separate guide.
On the listings themselves, the caps read like this. The VIP Holbox 6-hour swim and the Holbox Whale Shark Tours 7-hour group adventure both state a maximum of 10 travelers. The Xtreme Holbox eco tour and the Holtours hotel-pickup tour both state 8. The all-inclusive VIP listing and the private swim state no group figure at all, which is worth a quick question to the operator before you book if a small deck matters to you. Two travelers apart on paper can feel like a great deal apart on a small boat in open water.
7 hours
★ 4.3 · 86 reviews · From $184
Whale shark swims ended for 2026 on 17 September. The 2027 season dates have not been announced, so open calendars may stay blank for now.
Check availability →If a quieter boat matters, compare the stated caps across the listings. The 8-traveler eco tour runs 7 hours and adds a Cabo Catoche snorkeling stop, a virgin beach visit and the Santa Paula River, which spreads the group's attention across a full day rather than concentrating everyone on one swim. If the boat cap is your deciding factor, weigh it against duration too: a 6-hour day with 10 travelers can feel brisker than a 7-hour day with the same count.

Only two of the six Holbox swim listings list hotel or lobby pickup: the Xtreme Holbox eco tour at from $190 per person and the Holtours tour at from $210 per person. The other four meet you at a departure point on the island, typically the VIP Holbox office, a yellow Mayan house at Calle Palomino and Avenida Caleta.
On a car-free island roughly walkable end to end, pickup is a convenience rather than a necessity, but it changes your morning. The four listings without pickup all start from the same corner of Holbox: VIP Holbox Experience, which operates the 6-hour shared swim, the 7-hour group adventure run by Holbox Whale Shark Tours, the private swim and the all-inclusive 7-hour departure, meet at or near the yellow Mayan house office and marina by the Caleta. The taxi to and from that meeting point is listed as excluded on those lines. Golf carts, the island's rental vehicle of choice at roughly 45 to 75 USD per 24 hours by recent guide estimates, are the usual way to cover the distance before a 6:30 to 7:30 a.m. departure. If you'd rather base yourself on the mainland, the guide to Playa del Carmen and Tulum whale shark departures compares hotel pickup times and total day lengths against the easier morning you get from sleeping near the marina.
The two pickup listings make the logistics invisible. The eco tour collects you at your hotel within Holbox; the Holtours listing states hotel or port pickup and drop-off within Holbox. One warning worth repeating: the all-inclusive listing excludes hotel pickup and transfer, so plan your own way to the marina. Tips are extra on this one and on every other Holbox swim listing. The eco tour does include hotel pickup within Holbox, though the return transfer is not covered. That is exactly the kind of detail a what to expect guide walks you through for the morning itself.

Every Holbox swim listing includes snorkel gear and food, usually a light breakfast of coffee, fruit, yoghurt and sweet buns, then ceviche on the return leg, with guacamole or mango for non-fish eaters. The fee picture varies sharply: one listing bundles government fees in, one lists a departure tax paid at check-in, and several list no fee line at all.
The food is more consistent across the six listings than almost anything else. Four of the six describe the same pattern in their inclusions: cool water and sodas on the boat, snorkel equipment, a light breakfast, and the operator's ceviche after the swim, with guacamole or mango swapped for travelers who do not eat fish. The Holtours listing varies slightly, listing sodas, sandwiches and fish ceviche. The eco tour is the only one that frames its day around stops rather than meals, adding the Cabo Catoche reef snorkel, a virgin beach and the Santa Paula River to the core swim.
Fees are where listings genuinely diverge, and this is the line to read most carefully. The 7-hour group adventure is the standout: government fees appear in its inclusions, so the from $184 per person price carries them. The Holtours listing states the opposite in plain language: the price does not include a departure tax, payable at tour check-in and required by the local supplier or authority. The remaining three state no fee line either way; the eco tour bundles the CONANP marine park bracelet fee into its price and the group adventure includes government fees; ask the operator directly before assuming either. A July 2026 news report quotes about 230 pesos a visitor for Yum Balam access, from a cooperative representative rather than an official tariff page, so treat that as context, not a printed price.
Gear, languages and cancellation round out the checklist. Snorkel equipment is listed on all six. English and Spanish guiding is stated on five; the eco tour alone adds French, listing all three languages. Free cancellation is listed on every one of the six Holbox departures, which makes early booking for a peak July or August date low-risk. Whatever the listing says, the rules on the water are the same for everyone: biodegradable sunscreen only, life vest or wetsuit with mask, fins and snorkel, no touching, no flash, no selfie sticks.
| Listing | Breakfast and food | Snorkel gear | Fee line | Languages |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 6-Hour Swim | Light breakfast, ceviche, guacamole or mango | Listed | No fee line stated | English, Spanish |
| 7-Hour Group Adventure | Light breakfast, ceviche, fruit to take, water, sodas | Listed | Government fees included | English, Spanish |
| Eco Tour | Meals listed | Listed | No fee line stated | English, Spanish, French |
| All-Inclusive | Light breakfast, ceviche, guacamole and mango | Listed | Not listed | English, Spanish, French |
| Hotel Pickup, 6 Hours | Sodas, sandwiches, fish ceviche | Listed | Departure tax paid at check-in, amount on the listing | Not stated |
| Private Swim | Light breakfast, ceviche, guacamole and mango | Listed | No fee line stated | English, Spanish |
Read five fields in order: the departure city, the pickup flag, the stated group maximum, the exclusions and fees line, and the review count beside the rating. A 4.9 from 267 reviews and a 4.5 from 27 reviews are different signals, and a fee that is excluded on one listing and bundled on another can move the real cost of your day more than the headline price does.
Start with the departure city, because the region's whale shark products are easily confused. A listing that says Cancun or Isla Mujeres puts you on a boat from those marinas, an earlier start and a longer transfer day; a listing that says Holbox means the boat leaves from the island, a short golf-cart ride from your hotel. The Holbox against Cancun and Isla Mujeres comparison works through the trade-off in full. Then check the pickup flag against the inclusions text, because as the all-inclusive listing shows, the two can disagree, and the flag plus the exclusions line is the more reliable pair.
Ratings deserve the review count printed beside them, always. The all-inclusive departure carries 4.9 from 267 reviews, the most reviewed Holbox swim on the page; the 6-hour VIP swim holds 4.6 from 243; the group adventure sits at 4.3 from 86; the eco tour at 4.6 from 57; the Holtours line at 4.5 from 47; and the private swim at 4.5 from 27. All six are credible scores, but the smaller pools move more with a handful of strong or weak days, and weather drives good and bad reviews on this activity more than most. Read the low reviews specifically for seasickness, rough crossings and no-show sharks rather than for operator complaints, since those three factors recur across every departure point in the region.
The all-inclusive listing is a good worked example of careful reading. It is the most reviewed Holbox departure at 4.9 from 267 reviews, from $209 per person for 7 hours, with a real-time satellite tracker for security listed among its inclusions, a detail no other Holbox line mentions. Its exclusions line simply says not listed, so fees are an open question to put to the operator, and its French guiding makes it the natural pick for French-speaking travelers. You can weigh it against the other two most-booked Holbox lines on the operator's live listing: Check availability, alongside the full tour page.
Holbox swims run inside the Yum Balam reserve under NOM-171-SEMARNAT-2018: boats up to 11 metres with an identification pennant, 30 minutes maximum per boat around one shark, other boats waiting 50 metres away, 5 metres minimum boat distance, no touching or blocking, and quiet water entry with no jumping. Operators, not swimmers, carry most of the compliance load.
The SEMARNAT notice that set the 2026 season, 15 May to 17 September, also confirms that CONANP announces the number of authorised boats per zone; news reporting in July 2026 counted 146 permits across 14 cooperatives region-wide, 48 of them in Holbox. For you as a swimmer, the practical consequences are the briefing your guide gives on the dock: enter the water quietly from the boat, stay with your guide, keep the stated distances from head and tail, never swim in front of the animal, and leave the selfie stick and flash on the boat. The full NOM-171 text is published by the Diario Oficial de la Federación if you want the source.

These rules also explain why two listings that look identical on price can feel different on the water. A boat that holds 8 travelers rotates everyone faster than one holding 10 within the same 30-minute window per shark. A 7-hour itinerary buys time for a second attempt or a reef stop if the first search runs long. Whale sharks are filter feeders and the reported risks on these trips are boats, crowds and seasickness rather than the animal itself; if rough water is a concern for your group, the reading on whether whale shark tours are safe covers it. Sightings are never guaranteed on any listing from any port, and operators describe many sharks in the peak weeks of July and August without promising any particular day.
Budget the listing price, from $178 to $210 per person shared or from $1,246 per group private, plus cash for any separately stated fees, the taxi or golf cart to the meeting point where pickup is not listed, and tips, which every Holbox swim listing excludes (the all-inclusive and the eco tour included). No tip amount is published on the listings, and fee amounts are stated on the listing rather than in the headline price.
The fee lines deserve one clear paragraph because they are the most common surprise. Where a listing excludes a government, park, dock, conservation or departure fee, the amount is stated on the listing itself and collected on the day; the Holtours departure tax, for instance, is paid at tour check-in. The group adventure's bundled government fees are the exception among the six, not the rule. Beyond fees, the practical extras are the island taxi where no pickup is listed, and gratuities, which appear on the exclusions lines of nearly every Holbox listing. Cards can carry a surcharge on Holbox and ATMs are scarce, so arrive with pesos in hand; the same logic applies to the ferry from Chiquila if you are still en route to the island.
Season timing changes what the same money buys. Mid-season news reporting described 15 to 20 boats a day operating at about half capacity in July 2026, and by early September demand was reported down nearly 80 percent with local tour prices falling from about 2,800 pesos to 2,000 to 2,300 pesos in news accounts of the season's end, figures to read as market colour rather than listing prices. What that pattern means for choosing is simple: book early for July and August, when the aggregations peak and boats fill, and treat late season dates as quieter but weatherier gambles. Sea temperatures across the season run from 27.6 degrees C in May to 29.4 in August by satellite averages, which is comfort rather than decision data, but useful for packing.
| Decision factor | Choose shared when | Choose private when |
|---|---|---|
| Group size | 1 to 3 travelers | 4 or more, or a family |
| Budget anchor | $178 to $210 per person | From $1,246 per group |
| Schedule | Fixed island departure times | Your group sets the pace within rules |
| Pickup | Meet at the VIP Holbox office or book a pickup listing | Taxi to meeting point listed as excluded |
| Fee clarity | Group adventure bundles government fees | No fee line stated, ask the operator |
| Review depth | 267, 243 or 86 reviews across listings | 27 reviews, smaller review pool |

Whichever line you pick, the booking mechanics are kind on Holbox. Free cancellation is listed on all six departures, languages span English, Spanish and French depending on the operator, and Holbox Island Whale Shark Tours keeps all six on one page so you can move between them without re-searching. Read the exclusions twice, ask one written question about fees and pickup, and the rest of the choice comes down to who you want on the boat with you.
The cheapest is the 6-hour shared swim from VIP Holbox Experience at from $178 per person, rated 4.6 from 243 reviews. The full shared span runs to $210 per person, and the only private Holbox listing is from $1,246 per group.
Two listings state hotel or lobby pickup: the Xtreme Holbox eco tour from $190 per person and the Holtours 6-hour tour from $210 per person, both within Holbox. The other four meet at a departure point, typically the yellow Mayan house office at Calle Palomino and Avenida Caleta, with the taxi listed as excluded.
Where stated, listings cap the booking group at 10 or 8 travelers per boat; two listings state no maximum. That cap is for the boat, not the water: swimmers enter in small guide-led rotations under NOM-171, and the exact swimmer limit per guide is set by the protected-area management programme, with operators differing.
It varies by listing. One bundles government fees into its from $184 per person price, one states a departure tax paid separately at check-in with the amount on the listing, and four state no fee line at all, so ask the operator directly before assuming either way.
Yes. One private listing operates from Holbox: a 7-hour swim from $1,246 per group with a private boat, bilingual guide, breakfast, ceviche and snorkel gear, rated 4.5 from 27 reviews, with free cancellation listed.
Book early for July and August, the peak months when aggregations are strongest and boats fill. The season typically opens mid-May and most operators run roughly early June to mid-September; free cancellation is listed on every Holbox departure, so an early peak-season booking is low-risk.
Before you go, the pick for this guide:
All-Inclusive, Three Languages
★ 4.9 267 reviews · From $209
Check availability →